Bathurst Agricultural Museum

Bathurst Museum

In 1978, the first building erected, later named the “Geoff Palmer Hall”. This was officially opened by Dr Douglas Hey (then Director of Nature Conservation) who stated that the Museum was of importance not only to Bathurst but also to the whole of South Africa. In 1981 an addition of 60ft was built and completed.

bathurst Agri MuseumStarting with only 30 items the collection has grown rapidly and now we have over 1 900 items, many which are both rare and unique ! As our collection has been growing, a second building was completed in 1986 and is now known as the “AG Griffiths Hall” also known as “Griffy Griffths Hall”  where about half of the tractor collection can be seen.

A third large building was started in 1988 and completed only in 1995. During this time the “HH Norton Shed” was re-erected on its present site and known as the “Stationery Engine Room”


Bathurst Agricultural Museum Logo

A Plough made on the farm Tharfield (near Port Alfred)- in 1821 by the Bowker brothers. This plough can be seen in the 1820 Settler’s Museum (Grahamstown- Eastern Cape)

For more information:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.